A series of small failures


my favorite things
December 24, 2008, 1:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Thinking of that scene in The Sound of Music where Maria sings, “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens….”  I especially love “snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes.”

lately, the dog has been biting, and the bee stinging far too often. It’s time to think about things with good energy, that lift me out of sadness, and help me get back to the positive, the good, the hopeful.

Some of my favorite things:

floating on my back in the tropical ocean

watching elkhorn coral sway underwater near Tres Palmas in Rincon

watching the dogs run and jump, whether on the beach or in the snow

Gogo’s smile

Pooka’s way of talking

delicious raw food at Omar’s

cooking for friends

intuition (sometimes it’s hard to know things, but i love the fact that i do)

meeting a new friend and feeling the fate in it

friends who facilitate those sorts of meetings

feeling needed by someone and knowing you are there for them at just the right moment

crystals that form on the surface of pure white snow

my fireplace

tyler’s hugs

Cooper’s smile

Logan’s laugh

notes and drawings from Elliott

the book I wrote for Scott

the stillness and light in deep meditation

writing for yoga journal

apatite, moonstone, and crystals

Jeff Buckley’s Hallelujah

 

“When the dog bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

